So, this post may be boring, but it marks an important part of my journey. I graduated from high school in 1999, and that September started taking undergrad courses at Douglas College in Coquitlam. I took a lot of random things, mostly History and English as those were the subjects I did well in. I didn't really like college, it was too much like high school (attendance, small classes and I felt SO over that!! haha...), they never had any courses I wanted that would work together and the registration system was a nightmare. While I was there though worked in the college library for 2 semesters which was very boring, but paid for things. I shelved books, and organized periodicals and newspapers. Then after 4 semesters I transferred to SFU. This was not fun either. It was too big and I never connected with anyone, and as soon as my classes were over I would leave for home. I took a lot more English and History with a few Education classes thrown in for good measure. I knew what I wanted to be and took the classes that would get me there.
I applied for PDP in 2005, and got a letter saying that like 300+ people, I had not been accepted. Then that summer, I got a call saying they had opened up another module in Maple Ridge, and did I want to join. Of course I said, "YES" and started PDP in September. The first practicum went well. I was in a grade 3 class in Maple Ridge. Then the long practicum I was placed in a grade 5 class. It was hard, my sponsor teacher or S.A. was never around, he was doing other things in the school, so I was left to my own devices unless he was observing me. Then about Mid term I was blindsided by my F.A. and S.A. (Faculty Associate and School Associate) and they told me that they were going to put me on contract because I was not meeting expectations in my practicum and that if I wanted to pass I needed to get better at being organized, classroom management, and relating to the kids. So I was super stressed, because being on contract was not a good thing. I tried to improve, but really wasn't given suggestions, or supported, just told what I was doing wrong. So at the end of my practicum, they said that I had two options, one drop out and try again later, or extend my program for 2 weeks and go back to the grade 3 class. Of course to me failure was not an option (God wanted me to do this right?) so I extended my practicum. Of course at this point I was so tired, and overwhelmed and stressed and I got sick. I couldn't talk, I was coughing, sneezing, congested.... it was not good..... They people observing me picked on every little detail (I didn't smile enough (apparently my resting face is a frown, so I had to work extra hard to always be smiling) and I read "Conquistador" wrong when reading a picture book....stuff like that). So I was forced to drop out. I was defeated, but they were impressed at how well I took it, cause I didn't yell, scream, put up a fight, or cry. Of course I didn't I was too shocked that this was happening to me, and wondered how this could possibly be in God's plan..... Hahaha. So I reapplied to the program, volunteered in Kindergarten, grade 4, subbed at my mom's school, and got a letter saying that I had to come to an interview to see if I was ready to be accepted back into the program.
I went to the interview, it seemed to go ok, and then I waited for a week and a half for a letter saying whether I got in or not. Those were they longest 10 days of my life!! I checked the mail everyday and waited at the window for the mail lady to deliver the mail. Finally I got the letter, and it said I was in. I started my practicum in January 2006. I was put in a 4/5 split in an alternative school in Coquitlam. (They really focused on Social Responsibility). It was a great experience. Everything they said were my weaknesses last time, were now my strengths. My S.A. was a little weird, but supportive, so that was good. I passed at the top of my class, and then the real job began. Looking for a job. This part of the story will have to wait till next time, cause I am tired of writing, and you are probs tired of reading. Plus it's really integral to my journey, so I want it to be a separate entry to give it more weight haha....now you are really interested right?
Through all these highs and lows He was there.....
ooOOoo...we get to hear how horrible it was to work with jim. jk. :D
ReplyDeleteWow...I had a really crappy practicum, too. I'm so glad you stuck it out and made it through!!!
ReplyDelete